CAES announces participants for flagship program

CAES is pleased to announce the participants for the 2021 CAES Summer Visiting Faculty Program. The collaborative program is scheduled to begin in May with 15 research teams comprised of faculty members from the CAES universities and researchers from Idaho National Laboratory. It wraps up in August.
In its fourth year, the program pairs university faculty and researchers throughout the summer, with the goal of developing a joint-funded research proposal of value to both parties. Past projects that have received funding include:

  • An offshoot of a project led by Boise State University Professor Mike Hurley that will soon lead to installation of a 3D metal printer for nuclear grade materials at CAES.
  • A project led by Idaho State University Professor Irene van Woerden and INL Director of Communications and Outreach Rae Moss that calls for an in-depth analysis of the public perceptions of nuclear energy.
  • A project led by Boise State's Edoardo Serra that uses Lego Mindstorms to help teachers inspire middle-school students pursue careers in cybersecurity.

The program is a cog in CAES' effort to enable the one-on-one collaborations needed to build and sustain a research collaboration ecosystem, per the CAES Strategy. It provides university participants access to the national laboratory, allowing them to learn about its inner workings, capabilities and expertise, while building lasting networks between INL researchers and their students and colleagues. For INL researchers, the program offers an opportunity to build new academic connections, gain exposure to diversified funding opportunities, and connect with students supporting the faculty member.
Participants were selected based on proposals submitted by faculty in one of the CAES focus areas: nuclear energy; advanced manufacturing; cybersecurity; innovative energy systems; energy-water nexus; energy policy; and computing, data, and visualization. The faculty were then paired with INL researchers.
Here is a list of those selected:


University Faculty Institution INL Researcher(s) INL Organization(s) CAES Focus Area
Yantian Hou Boise State University (BSU) Koushik A. Manjunatha, Vivek Singh Energy & Environment Science & Technology (EES&T) Cybersecurity
Jayash Paudel BSU Lionel Toba and Mamunur Rahman EES&T Energy Policy
Frank Lu BSU Binghui Li EES&T Innovative Energy Systems
Dan Deng BSU Casey Icenhour Nuclear Science and Technology (NS&T) Computing, Data, & Visualization
Min Long BSU Yidong Xia, Trishelle Copeland-Johnson EES&T, Materials and Fuels Complex Computing, Data, & Visualization
Mostafa Fouda Idaho State University (ISU) Kurt Derr National and Homeland Security (N&HS) Cybersecurity
Andrew Chrysler ISU TBD N&HS Cybersecurity
Justin Wood, Marcus Burger ISU Ron Fisher, Richa Sabharwal N&HS Cybersecurity
Mustafa Mashal, Dan LaBrier ISU Chandrakanth Bolisetti, Som Dhulipala NS&T Nuclear Energy
Irene van Woerden ISU Rajiv Khadka NS&T Nuclear Energy
Vibhav Durgesh University of Idaho (UI) Stephen Hancock EES&T Nuclear Energy
Michael Maughan UI Thomas Lillo EES&T Advanced Manufacturing
Damon Woods UI Bhaskar Mitra EES&T Innovative Energy Systems
Rick Sheldon UI Craig Rieger N&HS Cybersecurity
David Arcilesi UI Amey Shigrekar, Joshua Fishler NS&T Nuclear Energy